Closing and Archiving a Completed Course

Process Selection Matrix

The following matrix is provided to help you select an archiving process that best suits your needs:

Options Allow continued access for: Original remains in Moodle Student data retained in course Backup stored Re-use of course
Close an existing course and retain view-only access for students Students (limited)

Teachers

Yes

Yes

In Moodle*

Must be copied for reuse

Close an existing course and save an archive, accessible in Moodle by teachers only

Teachers

Yes

Yes

In Moodle*

Must be copied for reuse

Close an existing course and download a copy for storage on a local drive (i.e., C:, J:, I:, etc.)

Teachers

Yes

No (must be restored from backup to view)

In Moodle* and on selected local drive

Must be reset for reuse

* Caution: Moodle keeps a maximum of five backups and will automatically backup your course each week if changes are made to it. This means that older backups that you may have saved for safekeeping could disappear, so it's recommended that you keep a local copy for your own records.

Last Updated: December 04, 2013