Closing an Existing Course and Downloading a Copy

After performing the following steps no Moodle users will have access to your course. However, a backup will be stored on a local drive that you select and your original course will be ready for new enrollments. This backup could later be restored if required (i.e., student grade appeals, course development, etc.).

Remove student access to the course

In your course page go to Settings > Edit settings > Availability and select This course is not available to students. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Save changes.

Backup your course

  1. In your course page go to Settings > Backup
  2. In Backup settings select all except Anonymize user information
    Initial Course Backup screen
  3. Select Next, Next again, then Perform backup, then Continue

Download a copy of the backup

  1. Once the backup is complete select Download to download the backup you just created (Backups are date stamped to help identification)
  2. Your backup can also be accessed at Settings > Restore
Last Updated: May 30, 2012